The first project I completed as a part of my studies at Rose Bruford College, apart from learning basic skills and pattern cutting which were started at the beginning of the year and continued throughout the year, was the creation of a half scale Kimono. This kimono was a fashion kimono and intended to be created using the basic skills we had just learned.

First we had to flat draft a pattern for the kimono and then cut our chosen fabrics accordingly. The construction of the kimono came next, the biggest challenge I found was that because everything was being created in half scale the accuracy was even more important as the detail could be more easily critiqued. I chose a varied colour scheme which made the cutting process more interesting as I had to know what I was cutting on of and the pieces I would need more of.

I was really pleased with the finish of my kimono. I was proud of the way I handled my first project with relatively few problems.

