For my dye project at college we had somewhat of a crash course in all things dyeing, printing and breaking down which was a really excellent experience to gain. I have previously only had a very basic knowledge of these techniques and so I really valued learning more about these skills.

We covered three basic areas of study, dyeing, breaking down and printing, and our task was to create various samples of these techniques. 

I created two main stencils, one of  a repeating art-deco style face, and the other of the iconic silhouette of supermodel Twiggy. Once I had these I used them to create two main items. The first was a screen printed and gold foil t-shirt design printed with the Twiggy icon and the second was a length of fabric that was printed with my repeating pattern in flat stencil print and gold foil accents.

